BIO News

< 返回上级

SUSTech Releases Peacock Team’s Key Third Generation Gene Sequencer Results

日期 2017 08 02/分类 BIO News

分享到   

On July 31, the SUSTech Peacock Team presented its third generation gene sequencer results at the Peacock conference held in the Shenzhen Civic Center. Leading the team was Associate Professor of the Department of Biology of SUSTech He Jiakui, who is also the chairman of the gene company that launched the third generation gene sequencer GenoCare. GenoCare’s gene sequencer is the world’s most accurate and the only one that is used in clinical application. Its technical level is the first in Asia and the world, and it is moving to occupy a key place in the genetic industry.

 

Shenzhen Municipal Government Deputy Secretary-General Wu You, Luohu District Party Secretary He Haitao, Shenzhen Economic and Trade and Information Committee Deputy Director Gao Lin, Luohu District Vice Mayor Song Qiang, member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences Chen Runsheng, American Association for the Advancement of Science Michael Deem, Hospital Group President Sun Xi Zhuo and the former member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences Beijing Genomics Institute deputy director Yu Jun attended the conference. SUSTech Vice President and Dean of the Graduate School Tang Tao and other relevant heads of departments involved were present, as well as the gene research and development team. The conference was chaired by Wang Susheng, Director of Planning and Development Department of SUSTech and Director of Major Project Office.

QQ截图20170516124310

Wang Susheng presided over the conference

吴优

Wu You’s speech

Wu You congratulated the team and He Jiankui on behalf of the Shenzhen municipal government. He said that Shenzhen has become a national innovation arena, even the national innovation city and a strategic platform for emerging industry clusters to experiment and develop. It has particularly valued the biological and health industries’ development by providing these future industries with extensive training and support resources. SUSTech Professor He Jiakui’s team is an example of the kind of support offered through the Peacock Plan.

汤涛

Tang Tao’s speech

Tang Tao also gave a speech in which he said the third generation of gene sequencers have successfully been put into operation, and this is partly thanks to the Shenzhen Municipal Government’s innovation-driven development strategy, of which the “Peacock Plan” is a component. In the future, SUSTech plans to further strengthen research and development efforts, improve collaboration mechanisms, and strive to adhere to excellence, innovation, and high-end scientific research achievements. In order to achieve these goals the university plans to assign resources to cultivate more top-notch innovative talents for the modernization of Shenzhen, and the country.

宋强

Song Qiang’s speech

Song Qiang pointed out that in recent years, the active development of the Luohu District has vigorously supported achievements of scientific and technological innovation in the area – Shenzhen Hanhai gene biotechnology Co., Ltd. for example is registered there. SUSTech has built an academic research base, with a strong focus on start-ups and entrepreneurship as the core model of production and research, and Luohu District looks forward to establishing closer ties with the university to further develop high tech industries.

陈润生

Chen Runsheng’s speech

Chen Runsheng then gave a talk from the perspective of industrial innovation, saying that He Jiankui and his team’s research results were of historical significance. He said that it was five years ago that He first proposed the idea of the third generation of gene sequencers, and now thanks to their hard work the idea has materialised. Thanks to emerging technologies, gene sequencing has increased significantly due to the fact that the cost has dropped massively. The study of the human genetic code will certainly play a key role in the history of human biomedical development, and the new sequencer technology is will contribute significantly to that.

亮相

Third generation gene sequencer’s debut

The audience was then treated to a video of the gene sequencer in action, with the participating leaders of the SUSTech Peacock team showcasing the major results obtained from it.

于军

Yu Jun’s speech

Yu Jun then gave the audience an introduction on the third generation gene sequencer. Its technical advantages include single molecule resolution, no GC preference and simple and fast sample processing. This device not only overcomes the shortcomings of the relatively low performance of single molecule sequencing, but also provides the possibility of direct RNA sequencing. Its application will cover both scientific research and clinical fields, which in turn offer valuable social and business prospects.

贺建奎

He Jiakui’s speech

Professor He is no newbie when it comes to R & D experience. He joined SUSTech in 2012, right after the establishment of his Han gene company. In 2016, his team was selected for the “Peacock Plan”, which unlocked 20 million CNY funding from the municipal government. The average age of team is 28 years old, and after several years of intensive research, it has completed three generations of sequencers as well as supporting research and development work. Currently it is still in prototype production, the next step will be to develop it for mass production, disrupting the market’s non-China based sequencing monopoly.

 

During the past two years, SUSTech has had 10 teams selected for the Peacock Plan, with core members usually being young professors. The university’s innovation mechanism designed to support the professors’s projects allows them to easily transfer their research results to the market for corporate applications. Currently, it has helped register almost 20 high-tech project companies, including six selected by the Peacock Plan, totalling a market value of nearly 800 million yuan.

 

Thanks to the new technology, sequencing prices are expected to drop to around $100, thus creating each individual his personal “genetic identity card.” Currently, the team has applied for 92 patents relating to their technology, including 10 overseas. This hopefully will put China on par with the USA and the UK, the other two world leaders in the field.

 

Representatives from the Shenzhen Municipal Party Committee Organization Department, Municipal Development and Reform Commission, City Branch, City Board of Education, Municipal Health Commission, Municipal Food and Drug Administration, Luohu District Science and Technology Bureau also attended the conference.

 

Contributed by: Pang Cuijiong, Wang Ziyi

Edited by: Jeremy Welburn
Photo: Wu Bingzhen

This article is reprinted from Southern University of science and Technology News Network

The original text link: http://www.sustc.edu.cn/en/news_events_/2014

 

WELCOME TO BIOLOGY DEPARTMENT


  • Address:

    NO.1 Faculty Research Building, Southern University of Science and Technology, No. 1088, Xueyuan Avenue,Nanshan District, Shenzhen,Guangdong,China

  • biology@sustc.edu.cn
  • Official Public Number of Biology

  • Official Public Number of SUSTech

Shenzhen

Southern University of Science and Technology

Copyright © 2016 SUSTC.All rights reserved. Creative by unison.

新闻中心

< 返回上级

南科大发布孔雀团队第三代基因测序仪重大成果

南科大发布孔雀团队第三代基因测序仪重大成果

日期 2017 08 01/分类 新闻中心

分享到   

  7月31日上午,南方科技大学孔雀团队第三代基因测序仪重大成果发布会在深圳市民中心举行。南科大生物系副教授、瀚海基因公司董事长贺建奎推出自主研发的第三代基因测序仪GenoCare。瀚海第三代基因测序仪是目前全球准确率最高且唯一用于临床应用的第三代基因测序仪,其技术水平已经达到“亚洲第一,世界领先”,占据基因产业的创新制高点。

  深圳市政府副秘书长吴优,罗湖区委书记贺海涛,深圳市经济贸易和信息化委员会副主任高林,罗湖区副区长宋强,中国科学院院士陈润生,美国科学促进会会士 Michael Deem,罗湖医院集团院长孙喜琢,原中国科学院北京基因组研究所副所长于军等出席发布会。南方科技大学副校长兼研究生院院长汤涛及相关部门负责人,瀚海基因研发团队等参加发布会。发布会由南方科技大学规划发展部部长兼重大项目办主任王苏生主持。

QQ截图20170516124310王苏生主持发布会

吴优吴优致辞

  吴优代表深圳市委市政府向贺建奎团队表示祝贺。他表示,深圳作为国家自主创新示范区,国家创新型城市和全国战略性新兴产业集聚性最强的城市,长期以来高度重视生物和生命健康产业的发展,把生物产业和生命健康产业分别作为战略性新兴产业和未来产业予以重点培育和支持。南方科技大学贺建奎教授团队的成果,是在深圳市孔雀团队计划支持下所取得的又一重大科技转化成果。

汤涛汤涛致辞

  汤涛表示,第三代基因测序仪的成功投产,是以深圳市政府创新驱动发展战略为导向,以“孔雀团队”为依托,以政府资助和政府辅助、扶持为推手,通过南科大产学研合作体系对科技成果转化的创新与协同运作。今后南科大将进一步加大研发攻坚力度,完善产学研合作体系,创优、创新,创造出更多的高端科研成果,培养更多的拔尖创新人才,为深圳现代化建设,国家创新型城市建设和科技发展作出更大的贡献。

宋强宋强致辞

  宋强指出,近年来,罗湖区积极引进、大力支持科技创新成果落地罗湖,作为第三代基因测序创新成果产业化的载体,深圳市瀚海基因生物科技有限公司已在罗湖区注册发展。南科大构建了以学术研究、成果转化、企业孵化为核心模式的产学研合作体系,罗湖区期待与南科大建立更加紧密的合作关系,助推罗湖创新驱动发展。

陈润生陈润生致辞

  陈润生从产业革新角度,评价了贺建奎团队研究成果的历史意义。他说,五年前贺建奎首次提出第三代基因测序仪的想法,现在贺建奎团队经历艰苦奋斗将第三代基因测序仪投产,极具创新创业的示范意义。从第一代基因测序到现在,整个测序的能力大幅提升,成本大约降低了100万倍。人类遗传密码的研究,一定会载入人类生物医学发展的史册当中,而测序仪是它的核心的不可或缺的设备。

亮相第三代基因测序仪亮相

  随后,嘉宾们观看了第三代基因测序仪影像视频,与会领导为南方科技大学孔雀团队重大成果第三代基因测序仪亮相揭幕。

于军于军讲话

  于军介绍了第三代基因测序仪。第三代基因测序仪的技术优势包括单分子分辨率、没有GC偏好、样本处理简单快速等。这款设备不仅克服了单分子测序相对低通量的缺点,同时也提供了RNA直接测序的可能性。其应用将覆盖科研和临床两个领域,社会价值与商业前景广泛。

贺建奎贺建奎讲话

  贺建奎从“100美元改变世界”、“瀚海基因成长密码”两个层面介绍第三代测序仪研发经历。贺建奎2012年加入南科大,之后成立了瀚海基因公司。2016年,贺建奎教授团队2016年入选“孔雀团队”,获批2000万元资助。这个平均年龄28岁的团队,历经数年艰苦攻关,完成了三代测序仪和配套试剂的研发工作,目前已经完成小批量样机生产,接下来就是要大批量投产,打破市场长期被外国测序仪垄断的局面,实现第三代测序仪的国产化。

  近两年来,南科大有10个团队入选孔雀团队,其中团队核心成员大部分为青年教授。南科大创新体制机制,鼓励教授创新创业,支持教授每周有一天在校外从事成果转化工作,明确教职工可以获得以职务发明成果及技术作价入股企业进行收益转化。目前,南科大已注册成立了近二十家高科技项目公司,包括六家孔雀团队的科技公司。通过和教师共同发起公司,实现了科技成果市场价值近八亿元。

  据悉,第三代基因测序仪量产后,基因测序价格有望降到100美元,并打造每个人专属的“基因身份证”。 目前,第三代基因测序仪研发已取得包括授权和申请中的专利总数达到92件,以及有10余件海外专利申请。本次发布会第三代基因测序仪Genocare的正式亮相,让中国三代基因测序技术与美国、英国行成“三足鼎立”之势。
深圳市委组织部、市发改委、市科创委、市教育局、市卫计委、市药监局,罗湖区科技局的相关代表出席了发布会。

 

文字:庞翠琼 汪子怡
摄影:吴秉臻

本文转载自南方科技大学新闻网,原文链接:http://www.sustc.edu.cn/news_events_/4040

WELCOME TO BIOLOGY DEPARTMENT


  • 地址:

    广东省深圳市南山区学苑大道1088号
              南方科技大学第一科研楼2-3层

  • biology@sustc.edu.cn
  • 南科大生物系官方公众号

  • 南方科技大学官方公众号

深圳

南方科技大学

Copyright © 2016 SUSTC.All rights reserved. Creative by unison.